Grateful to @billcamp for introducing me to The Karma Seed on the way back from Educon

After an inspiring weekend at Educon in Philadelphia, Bill Campbell (@billcamp) graciously drove Basil Kolani (@bkolani) and me back to Manhattan. Bill lives on the New Jersey side of the Hudson River, but he braved Sunday night traffic at the Lincoln Tunnel and the George Washington Bridge to actually deliver us safely into Manhattan and not just abandon us to swim, hitchhike, or commute via public transportation across the Hudson River. Bless his heart.

After I gushed about what a mitzvah it was for Bill to have gone above and beyond in offering door to door service, he handed me a Karma Seed. It’s like a “Pay it Forward” thing. The Karma Seed movement was started by Christopher Lo, an ex-student of Bill’s from Dwight-Englewood School in Englewood, New Jersey. In describing the Karma Seed on the site, Christopher writes:

The Karma Seed allows anyone — young or old, rich or poor — to increase their potential to have a positive impact on the lives of others. It makes a simple piece of plastic a record of meaningful connections between strangers, connections formed by the things that I believe make us human: kindness, thoughtfulness, and a basic desire to do good. To me, the beauty of the site lies in the stories people share. As long as there’s still goodness in the world and people willing to start and pass seeds, I will continue to provide the platform that I have grown so quickly to love. I hope The Karma Seed will inspire you in the same way that it has inspired me.

I approached my Head of School about getting a Karma Seed for each of our 8th graders. Their theme for the year is The Quest for Social Justice: Reinventing Society, and having a tangible Karma Seed to track good deeds is such an awesome way for them to see that their actions have consequences, and they have the power to change the world.

The Karma Seed also reminds me of Morley’s gorgeous song which was used as the intro video for TEDxYouthDay.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Grateful to @billcamp for introducing me to The Karma Seed on the way back from Educon

  1. Bill Campbell

    Wow. That would be great if this becomes something that all the 8th graders at The School participate in. I never thought of that and might just have to point my administration to your blog post as a way to suggest the idea at my school.In the spirit of full disclosure, I can’t take credit for directly teaching Chris. He was never in a class I taught, but I’d like to hope that the work I did for the benefit of the entire school via the Computer Services department and committees I’ve served on helped to provide him with a great experience at Dwight-Englewood School. He recently spoke to our upper-school students during an assembly, and I was impressed with what he had to say and the way he said it.

    Like

  2. Pat Hough

    thanks, karen and bill!. i just ordered 5 cards to get my karma on!

    Like

  3. Karen Blumberg

    @billcamp @pathough Thanks! I’m now a huge fan of #KarmaSeed; We just bought 100 for our alum and 8th graders! http://post.ly/1Z9gL

    Like

Leave a Reply

