Guest lecturing at the School of Visual Arts at 3pm. Thanks, Jaime!

In about an hour, I’ll be guest lecturing at The School of Visual Arts for graduate students in the Masters in Art Education program. Jaime Permuth invited me, and I gave him many opportunities to rescind the invitation. Jaime is a photographer and faculty member at SVA. He wants me to share some of what/how/why I do what I do with his graduate students. As I’m more inclined to “wing it” at most of my public speaking opportunities, I told him I’d gift him with actually trying to formulate a talk in advance. I sort of lied about that, but here are topics I plan to touch upon:

Jaime says that his students use technology and art making to explore and talk about their personal identities in the hopes that, as teachers, they’ll model for their students how to build more tolerant societies. How great is that?

Side note (or “How I met Jaime”): Jaime invited me to be his friend on Facebook a few months ago. Not knowing who he was, I was immediately skeptical, and ignored the request. A few weeks later, Don Buckley (The Director of Technology at The School at Columbia University) was hosting some visitors from The School of Visual Arts. After shaking hands with them, I realized one of them was Jaime, and I immediately accused him of trying to friend me on Facebook. Jaime’s response was, “Why wouldn’t I? Your Facebook profile is linked to your website!” We then talked about how I treat Facebook and Twitter connections differently. While I don’t fool myself that Facebook is private, I think of Facebook as having a thicker veneer of privacy than Twitter, and almost all of my Facebook contacts have shaken my hand (and/or hugged me at some point). So, after shaking Jaime’s hand, I friended him on Facebook.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Guest lecturing at the School of Visual Arts at 3pm. Thanks, Jaime!

  1. Jaime Permuth

    Karen, Your talk was so well received by my students. We’ve revisited and continued to think about points you made during your presentation over the past weeks. Thanks for informing, entertaining and inspiring us all at once. CheersJaimeps: glad to be your friend on FB and to know you in real life as well.

    Like

  2. Karen Blumberg

    @jaime_permuth Thanks, Jaime! That’s ridiculously nice to hear and a little hard to believe. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

