Great to see @KarlynAdler use @Aurasma to enhance her classroom’s bulletin board with student voices.

In December, I shared the Aurasma augmented reality app with many of the K-2 teachers. I had ideas for book reviews and narrated Admissions tours and curated parent shares. Aurasma lets the camera on your iPhone or iPad zero in on an image (the trigger) in order to call up a corresponding overlay (the aura).

Two weeks ago, I spent time with Karlyn Adler (@karlynadler) and Katie Pabarue (@kpabarue) playing with the app, and I was pleased to see that it was crashing less than it did when I first downloaded it in the fall. We brainstormed ways to use it and practiced creating auras and exploring channels. We decided it may make sense to create a channel for their classroom and just have that app/channel loaded on designated iPads in their class.

Katie has been using it to link book covers with audio and/or video of her students reviewing the book. I can’t wait to see this in action. Karlyn told me that they had a great parent share last week (while I was at NAIS), where her students walked around with their parent and used Aurasma to view short videos triggered by the bulletin boards. I went up to see for myself and captured this video:

I approached Belinda Nicholson, Principal of the Middle Division at The School at Columbia University, and we had a great conversation yesterday about possibly using it for Admissions tours — one possibility is that we could have designated iPads for tours and let room signs trigger information about the classroom or the teacher or the type of work that goes on in the space. Today, Belinda told me already had a bunch of ideas including  using an image of the student schedule to trigger audio of what a typical week looks/feels like.

At NAIS last week, I attended Lori Carroll (@lcarroll94)and Justine Fell (@justfell)’s Aurasma showcase at the speed innovating session, and it was great to swap ideas with them. They shared a great one-sheeter that I’ve since further shared with teachers here at The School. Contact them to see if they’ll share it with you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

