Slides from my “Our Blogs, Ourselves” session for the #SpringBlogFestival organized by @NellieMuller & @mjgsm!

Above are the slides and recording from my Our Blogs, Ourselves presentation for the 2015 Spring Blog Festival. Here’s my short description of what I’ll talk about: Curation is a 21st Century skill, and Karen has been curating her digital presence for years. She will share how and why she gathers archival evidence of her professional endeavors and classroom projects in a digital portfolio and offer some tips to get started. Simply put, Dr. Nellie Deutsch (@NellieMuller) is a dynamo. I thought I was busy, but Nellie puts me to shame. While I organize/attend/present at many conferences in any given year, you’d probably need to add a zero to approximate Nellie’s schedule. She coordinates and facilitates countless conferences and opportunities to connect online, and I’m lucky to be on her mailing list. Whenever I can, I accept her invitations to be part of something interesting for educators. March 21, 2015 is the second annual Spring Blog Festival. (She even had a Fall Blog Festival in the interim!) Nellie is co-organizing the SBF with María Jesús García San Martín (@mjgsm). Here’s their great description from the SBF event website:

The Spring Blog Festival (SBF) is a one day annual event that takes place on March 21. The aim of the festival is to showcase bloggers and their work. Topics range from transformational blogging and reflective blogging to connectivity, history, evolution, teaching tools, multi-media, thinking & creativity, families, schools, and content curation.

Screen Shot 2015-03-21 at 6.00.38 pm

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Slides from my “Our Blogs, Ourselves” session for the #SpringBlogFestival organized by @NellieMuller & @mjgsm!

  1. Thank you for presenting at SBF15! I learned so much from you!
    I am sending a link to my SBF15 SMORE Reflection just in case Google doesn’t alert you to private links. ; ) Am trying to get the nerve to let it go public. Thanks again! YOU are GREATLY appreciated!!!
    https://www.smore.com/npuqv

    Please notice:
    …I am not an EGGhead..Instead…A Sockhead! ; )
    Have a Beautiful Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your kind words and your reflection. I totally appreciated reading your summary – sorry I was talking too fast during the presentation! Please let me know if you have any questions.

      As per the sock head – I think having any image is fine, and it’s also important to have a descriptive bio too. This helps people know they are connecting with a real person/teacher. You don’t have to put too much info, but enough so people don’t think you’re a fake spam account.

      All the best,
      Karen

      Like

      • Karen ~ Thanks for the tip on the bio. It will be easier to create a short temporary one than procrastinate about doing a long real one! ; ) Also, you weren’t talking to fast. My brain was not able to comprehend due to my tech phobia. (I am a lot better than I was.) Your speaking voice was very clear and easy to understand. I am thankful for the recording–I have watched it many times already and learn more each time. Hopefully, soon I will conquer this Twitter phobia. The info you shared on Twitter and Hashtags was fantastic! Again, thanks so much for sharing!

        Like

  2. I have added to my Padlet post to clarify about the ‘fast’ speaking. This was not what I meant to convey–I am sorry about the misrepresentation. There was certainly no need for you to apologize for fast speaking! Thank you so much for your understanding and kindness to say ‘sorry’ for something you didn’t do. Karen Blumberg, you are a jewel and I am looking forward to following your work!
    Have a Beautiful Day!

    Like

    • No worries — I didn’t mean to imply that’s what you were referring to in your post! I just know it’s something I do, and I should try harder to slow down and speak more intelligibly. I’ll blame it on being a New Yorker. 🙂 I really appreciate your generous compliments, and I wish you the best as you explore more online learning and networking opportunities!

      Like

Leave a Reply

