Amazing 3D printers made with Legos, EV3, and a 3D printing pen.

How much do I love my PLN? Let me count two ways…

Luigi Cicala (@luigi_teacher) of The Brearley School shared this post on one of my GoogleGroups:

I ran into Baz, an inventor at MakerFaire, and I think he’s created the best use ever for a 3d printing pen: he’s built a Lego EV3 3d printer using the pen as the extruder!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYeLmEaWkwM

Then Maureen Reilly (@MaureenRReilly) of The Marymount School shared this!

Yes! Baz (or Marc Andre Bazergui)  is a good friend and also made an Instructable if you want to build this LEGO EV3 3-D Printer: http://www.instructables.com/id/EV3Dprinter/

This project has HUGE potential for Math connections – Baz’s printer currently can “only” be programmed to make polygons – but programming polygons is big stuff especially considering the Z axis!
The pens he uses are only $40 on Amazon. We have a few of them here and they are MUCH easier to use than the 3-D doodler (smaller in size)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment